Life in Brighton – An Old Man and a Dog on a Hill (Brighton的二三事 – 老人與狗)

I’ve always tried following the wisdom indicated by the Archangel Oracle Card I drew every morning. Thus I decided to hop on bus #1 after my big shopping for winter clothes to fulfill the card I drew this morning: Outdoors.

一直以來我都會試著遵從每天早上抽到的大天使卡描述的智慧,所以今天下午完成我的早冬服裝大採購後,就跳上1路公車,實現早上抽到的Outdoors啦!

I got off at the last stop in Whitehawk, and didn’t know where to go. Therefore, as usual, I picked up a trail randomly. I climbed up the ascending path, crossing a freeway, and then suddenly, I found myself stepping onto a huge green carpet paved with grass.

上次搭的方向是往Mile Oak,這次往反方向Whitehawk,一樣在最後一站下了車。
這邊就是山坡上的住宅區,沒什麼特別的,原本想繞繞就回家,所以跟往常一樣隨便挑了條小路順著上坡爬上去,結果爬到頂端後竟然是個快速道路,過了馬路後…莫名其妙的發現自己已經置身在一片綠草鋪成的地毯上。

With the sun shinning, wind breezing, and bees humming, I really wanted to sit on the green carpet and had this unspoiled land all to myself. But the sun was too precious for me to waste any time. So I kept walking and exploring the field.

今天下午的太陽很美,偶爾有微風吹過,一旁還有蜜蜂嗡嗡嗡的採著花蜜,實在很想就地坐下獨享這無人打擾的美麗大自然。不過太陽實在太珍貴了,要在天黑前好好把握時間,所以我還是繼續踏著草叢中隱密的小徑進行我的探險與探索。

On my way to the unknown destination, a big German Shepherd Dog rushed towards me from the hilltop, and stopped suddenly few meters away. His owner shouted at me and asked if I had a dog, as the shepherd thought everyone here should have been with a dog, and he wanted to play with other dogs.

大概來回把整片原野掃了一遍,正想說準備掉頭時,突然山坡上有隻大狼狗(德國牧羊犬)開心得向我衝過來,但在清楚的看到我後又停下來。山坡上它的主人大聲問我有沒有狗,我說沒有,他主人才向我解釋,他的狗以為所有來到這片草原的人都會帶著狗,所以興奮得想找其他狗玩XD

I smiled and shook my head then approached him, and he started to chat with me.

我走近他還有狗狗,表達善意的微笑,接著他就開始向我攀談起來了。

He is a semi-retired history teacher, interested in medieval British history (1400~1600) and recent history (1800~1900). Well, I’m a good listener and know little about British history, so he told me some historical stories while playing catching ball with his dog.

原來他是個半退休的歷史老師,對英國中古世紀還有兩百年前的近代史頗有研究。好吧,既然我自認是個很好的傾聽者,我的英國歷史又差到不行,於是他就順理成章的開始講了很多英國的歷史故事給我聽,同時還一邊跟他的狗玩丟球…他的狗不愧是狼犬,警覺性超強,動作也很敏捷,每次球一出手的瞬間它也一個箭步就衝出去了!

We had a nice talk (to be frank, he talked and I listened), and then he offered me a lift since, I quoted, “You are in the middle of nowhere."

站在夕陽下,我們聊了好一陣子(好吧…其實都是他講我聽…英國歷史對我來說太難了),接著他問我需不需要載我一程,因為我現在站的地方是鳥不生蛋,不管到哪邊都很遠;大家都知道我很大膽的…所以就同意啦。

We kept talking in the car until I asked him to pull over in front of the West Pier, and then we exchanged our phone numbers for future contact. Can you believe that his son used to dance for Take That in 199x? Amazing!

我請他載我到West Pier我再搭公車回家,然後應他的要求交換電話號碼以便日後再約(不過我不知道還敢不敢再跟他見面就是了…雖然今天看起來他是正人君子,但近來碰見太多大野狼…我這隻小兔子還是小心點好)。不過在車上,他提到他兒子在199x年的時候曾經幫Take That接招合唱團伴舞過…實在令人不敢置信耶!!太帥了!

I think I have mastered the art of the encounter, whether with a new adventure or a new person. Every time hopping on then hopping off a bus, I led myself into an unknown adventure, and I always created an unexpected experience as I did today. I love this kind of life right now, and hope I will have more wonderful encounters with nature and new people/events in the future.

我在想我已經精通了 “偶遇"的藝術吧,不管是跟自然美景的偶遇,還是跟陌生人的偶遇。每次隨意跳上一輛公車,我就進入一場未知的冒險,而每次我還真的都可以得到意想不到的體驗。我還蠻喜歡現在的生活型態的,希望未來我也能常常被偶遇的大自然所驚艷,然後再與不同的陌生人與事件來個有趣的邂逅~

This entry was posted in Brighton的二三事, 英國, 記事, 身心靈, 旅行 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 則回應給 Life in Brighton – An Old Man and a Dog on a Hill (Brighton的二三事 – 老人與狗)

  1. elppbjason 說:

    我也住在BRIGHTON,一直在看你的文,然后顺着你的脚步走过很多地方 ^ ^

    • Lillian 說:

      哈,真棒~~很高興有人跟我的文😛
      你有什麼好景點可以推薦嗎?

      • elppbjason 說:

        我也才来BRIGHTON两个多月呢,挺多东西都是跟着你的BLOG走的。现在我在爱丁堡,不过我去了Stirling Castle。你好像没去爱丁堡周边的城市吧。

      • Lillian 說:

        真感動,竟然有人跟著我的blog走…希望我的文章沒有誤導你阿😛
        對,我當初只有去愛丁堡還有高地,因為決定的很倉促,事前都沒做什麼功課;聽說愛丁堡最近有煙火,應該很漂亮吧?
        明年有機會的話我應該會再去一次,到時後再請你推薦一些景點給我囉!!

  2. elppbjason 說:

    爱丁堡烟火没看到,倒是看到了军乐和马队。现在开学了回BRIGHTON了呢。我在UNIVERSITY OF SUSSEX。你有其他联系方式吗?

發表迴響

